Regional curlers earn 2020 junior provincial berths

Share Adjust Comment Print

The 2020 Manitoba junior provincial curling championships are more than nine months away but a quartet of teams — two men’s and two women’s — have already qualified for Dauphin.

Skip Meghan Walter of the Elmwood Curling Club, who features second Kadriana Sahaidak of Gimli and lead Mackenzie Elias of East St. Paul, earned the second of two spots available at a berth bonspiel with a 9-5 win over Brooklyn Onagi and her St. Vital foursome in Morris on March 17.

Walter and company dropped a 10-4 decision to Serena Gray-Withers and her Granite Curling Club squad in a battle for the first berth earlier in the day.

Moosehorn product Talyia Tober and her team from Assiniboine Memorial suffered an 8-5 loss to Onagi in a B-side qualifying game.

At the men’s event, Jacques Gauthier and his Assiniboine Memorial squad, which includes lead Zack Bilawka of East St. Paul, won all three of their games, including staling a 6-5 victory over St. Vital’sRyan Wiebe on March 17, to earn a spot in Dauphin.

Emerson Klimpke of Stonewall and his Morris-based team, which includes second Tim Johnson of Arborg, gave up four stolen singles in a 7-5 loss to St. Vital’s Jordan Johnson in the 3-vs.-4 Page playof game.